Sunday, February 23, 2014

Le Gala

Since October, there has been a French Master’s class in the room above us every day.  They are basically learning the same curriculum as us, but started in February 2013.  They have been more or less a mystery.  One guy, who was confident in his English, named Pierre, was the only person to talk to our class.  But then there we were invited to this “Gala” event that they organized.  This was our chance to get befriend the French students above us!! Before the Gala, all we did was watched them walk by our window and decide who was hot or not.  Sadly, there were not that many “hot” guys.  

The Gala was the Saturday after Thanksgiving! Can you imagine how eventful these few days were.  We did not know how to handle all the socializing that we had to go through!! Not really, I can talk a lot.  

It all started at 10 in the morning!! Bright and early.  But as the French do, when they say 10 they really mean 11 or 12 or 1…really anytime but 10.  There was a scheduled soccer game and rugby match.  I signed up for the soccer game (and was the only girl) but not for the rugby match because I did not want to break every bone in my body.  

I have not really played much soccer since i was 13 so my skill set is pretty low.  But because my parents are sports fanatics I like to think I understand how sports work.  I can understand the basic strategies on how to get a ball from your side to the other goal.  For some reason, my team did not.  We had “positions” but that did not matter.  I was a defender but then no one was up attacking the goal so I felt the need to go up since 5 guys were by our goal.  Then people would go from right to left just because.  People didn’t know what the weak side was and passing was not an option.  We did score…once.  Nevertheless, my team lost, and I looked like a girly girl trying to play.  
To redeem myself I got a game of volleyball going!!!! Can you believe it?!?! VOLLEYBALL!!! I hadn’t played for so long, and it felt so good.  I was not playing with anyone who had a lot of experience, but just jumping around and pretending to be a front row player was amazing.  

Eventually food was BBQed and devoured then it was time for everyone to go home and get ready for the dinner and dancing.  They had busses to bring everyone to and from the venue which was about 20 minutes away.  Everyone looked good dressed up in nice dresses and such.  It is always fun to dress up.  

At this part of the day we had a lot of wine and a 4 course dinner.  At one point in the meal a food fight erupted along with a paper airplane contest.  It was just with people we knew so we weren’t being too annoying.  
After dinner the party really got started: dancing, socializing, drinking, the usual.  I made friends with some of the French guys from the French Master’s program.  One was a French guy from Aix-en-Provence and another was an Italian guy who only spoke Italian and French.  The conversation is always more interesting when you are dancing around a few languages.  


Like I said, the busses were there to take us to and from the venue.  The busses coming home were scheduled for 1 am, 2 am, 3 am and 4 am.  When they had told us this before I was thinking “Who will be there until 4!?”  I was there until 4.  And the bus didn’t actually leave at 4 it left more around 4:45 since we didn’t board very fast.  It was funny though since it was the only bus left, everyone had to fit on it, so people were tripled up on seats, laying on the ground.  It was rumored someone was underneath the bus is the luggage section.  I was not home and in bed until 5:30!!!!! I had woken up that morning at 8 am and then went to bed at 5:30 a


m the next morning.  I woke up Sunday feeling as if I was hit by a train.  My body was exhausted from being up so long and playing soccer and volleyball and dancing a lot.  But the exhaustion was worth it, I had a great time!!! And the French people really were not THAT bad to hang out with.


No comments:

Post a Comment