So I wrote this a week or 2 or 3 ago...oops....
Since meeting up with all the Vinifera students we have been traveling in one big pack, about 20 people. When you start college that is what happens. People find people they know and they invite the other scared freshman to join and all of a sudden you have 50 people trekking to a party down the road. That is how I feel with this group. Don't get me wrong, I love that we are all getting along and hanging out but trying to get lunch or dinner with 20 people is not easy. On the other hand, hanging out with the big group gives you the opportunity to talk to everyone at some point. I have really enjoyed that so far.
Another great thing about this mob mentality is that if we all forget something or all do something no one can really get upset because we are just the english speaking wine people. I can't discount the few people who are fluent in French, but we all do speak english, and we all have felt very lost at some point so it is nice to have a buddy to mess up with.
As for my weekend activities I did not always stay with the mob of foreigners. I wondered the city alone on Saturday for a few reasons. I wanted to get to the bank before it closed and then try to get a cell phone. Both were a success, no interesting stories from that. Meandering alone was fun. I explored the east side of the city a bit and tried to find a cafe with wifi. I was too nervous to ask someone for help so I just ended up mindlessly walking and heading home. (Hopefully, I will soon have the courage to speak to someone in French with full sentences and NO sharades!! Soon.) I think every Saturday there is a food market alone the aqueduct which I gladly stumbled upon during my walk to and fro the city center. There was a bunch of produce, meat, bread, and some chinese food. I didn't buy anything for two reasons; obviously because I still don't have the balls to talk in French (SOON) and second, I was leaving town the whole next week so there was no point in getting food that would spoil. But, now I know what happens on Saturdays, so next time I can go prepared!
As for Sundays there is not much to know. Most things are closed except some few cafes and the tourist attractions. There are the random dudes on the side of the road selling knock off whatever they have but that isn't too exciting; you can get that in any big city in Europe. I explored the city with some of the girls though and we ended up at one of the open cafes for the longest lunch ever. I am not complaining. I was very much relaxed and happy to just its down to chill out. The salads we all ordered were MASSIVE.; definitely a full meals worth. But a good time all together.
No comments:
Post a Comment