Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Barcelona Day 2


Day 2 in Barcelona was a struggle.  No one was feeling 100% due to the alcohol and lack of sleep but we knew we were in Barcelona and had to take advantage of the time here.  We made it out of the apartment about 1 and went to find a place to have lunch.  We chose a place that had the SLOWEST service and my meal came 5 minutes later than everyone else's.  I was dying of hunger so that 5 minutes felt like an eternity.  The only truly redeeming factor of the lunch was they gave us shots of some weird semi tequila tasting semi limoncello tasting shots.  It was hilarious to see all of us struggling to take them. 

After lunch we walked down to the harbor and saw the harbor mall type thing and all the boats parked.  In that mall there was a Starbucks and I really felt like a Pumpkin Spice Latte…which they didn't have.  Sad day.  I still got a Chia Tea Latte but it was not as good as a Pumpkin Spice Latted would have been.  But that latte made me feel like a new person.  So what if I got little sleep, I wanted to keep doing something now and not go home.  Thankfully one of the girls, Magdelena, had the same mindset as me.  We did not have to worry about leading a bunch of people and our only aim was to get lost and find cool shops.  We did just that.  There were so many cute shops with cute clothes and accessories but we both fought all the urges to buy anything! I was so proud, but now regret it a little.  I think having something from Spain would have been really cool. 

Though I was down to adventure and all, I could not deny the fact that I needed some rest.  We went home to nap/rest.  Napping is hard with 10 people in an apartment but I was able to just sit and relax.  Another thing that worked out well was one of the girls, Chloe cooked us dinner.  This was a money saving and energy saving idea.  She also cooked a really good veggie meal!

Yet again, we headed out on the town around 11 or 11:30.  We had a friend (a local) show us to some cheap places.  The group I was with has this weird obsession with Mojitos (also tequila) but I don't like them.  I tried to like the Mojitos but can't do it.  Not at all.  So we went to a place that had good sized 3 euro mojitos, a pretty baller price.  

When that bar closed we meandered a bit and came across another bar.  Here, it was pretty chill and normal until this lady came in frantically looking for her puppy.  She was crying and looking everywhere for the puppy.  I remembered seeing one come in and thinking it was cute but I thought that it would have just gone to the guy who brought it in.  After she was looking for 10ish minutes I decided to look under my feet for a second.  I saw a dark blob that looked like a purse but I went to touch it anyway and it was soft, warm and breathing.  The puppy had fallen asleep under my feet and I did not even notice! So I just reached down and picked up the puppy and gave it to the lady's guy friend who then gave it to her.  She FREAKED out in happiness.  She was almost collapsing she was so happy and sad and just very emotional.  She had no idea it was me and I was OK with that.  But the guy was probably not enjoying the crazy ladies reaction so he pawned it off onto me.  She then came over and was crying and kissing my cheeks and giving me hugs and speaking in english and spanish.  It was an emotional mess.  I was laughing, she was crying, everyone else was laughing.  Her man friend helped get her off of me and we ended up chatting and he was from LA and went to Cal Poly!!! Such a random small world thing.  And I was out with Monica, another Cal Poly grad, so we all talked about the magical place of SLO.  
We got home around 4 again and just ate, watched youtube and hung out for a little bit.  Basically went to bed after 5 am again.  



No comments:

Post a Comment