Day 3. I did not get much sleep again. I woke up at 10 ish and tried to plan the day. I still had not done any sightseeing that I wanted to do so that was my priority. Through research, Molly and I decided to go to Park Guel, the Sagrada Familia and the Picaso Museum. I thought it was a good plan, and it was, but it wasn't.
Getting to Park Guell is hard. No matter what metro to take, you need to walk 2 minutes towards it. So we go out of the metro and had no idea where we were and only had a shitty tourist map. We got lost and found the park an hour later. Once at the park there were so many other tourists and this was not what we wanted. We also did not see what everyone was so stoked on. Yea there was a pretty view and it did have some cool architecture going on because Gaudi was awesome, but we just did not like it. There were probably other factors like fatigue and irritability due to being lost, but we just did not enjoy it much. BUT everyone I talked to back at school asked if I had seen the park and I would say how we didn't like it and their mouths drop. I don't know what they loved so much about it, but yea, I guess I offend them when I say it. So sorry if I am offending anyone now.
Next stop was the Sagrada Familia, which is the only thing I remember about Barcelona from when I was little. It was just as cool as it was when I was 10 years old. I think it is more "complete" now that they keep "finishing" it. But it is such a different type of style compared to any other churches it makes sense why it is so loved and visited. I wanted to go in but the line to buy a ticket was around half the church, and it is a big ass church. Maybe another time.
Last stop, the Picasso Museum. I had actually passed it the day before with Magdelena but did not realize it. Side note: all these tourist spots were an adventure to fine because our map was so bad that it made no sense at all which way was North or South or what streets the sights were on. The Picasso Museum had a longish line but Molly and I stuck through it. I was taken aback at how much I liked the museum. It showed you the development of Picasso. He was not always the crazy face making painter that I think of him as. He could pain a lot of different styles of things. The funniest one we saw was a "Self Portrait with Wig." We decided it was like the old fashion way for taking a selfie picture with a weird hat. BUT I really liked a lot of his works, from is older ones to some that were more recent.
So now it was time to go out again. Normally when I party with groups I take a night off and rest, but for some reason I did not do this here. I was going off of the amount of sleep in 2 days that I like to get in one night, and still managed to get ready and go out. We finally had some great tapas at a place where all the tapas were set out on a bar and you could just go up and grab them. At the end of your meal you go up and they charge you for the amount of toothpicks you have. It is a cool honor system and I loved that, but was also upset because I knew that in America it would not work out since people are cheap and dishonest. Nest we bar hopped just to et a feel for this other side of town we were at. We went to a cocktail lounge, a gin bar, a pub and then another more pub like bar. The 4 of us that lasted to the end of the bar scene got home around 4 am. One guy, Jos (South African) made friends with some homeless people and wondered off, and the rest of us got into the apartment and thought it would be a good idea to play French music really loud and have a dance party. Just the 3 of us. There were 2 guys sleeping on the couch (and by sleeping I mean passed out) and we did not give a damn. They woke up once and said something along the lines of "I like this song" and did not ask us to stop or leave. It was a solid dance party with just the 3 of us (2 Americans and a Swede). I danced my way to bed (literally) a bit after 5 and the other two danced for another hour after that. I don't know why or how they did it, but it happened.
The last day was just cleaning and catching a bus. We returned to Montpellier at 8 pm and I went to bed at 9 and woke up at 6. It was not THAT much sleep, but I needed it. Bad.
I had such a great weekend. I am so glad that I went. I was able to get to know more people in my major better than I did before and now we all have inside jokes and stories. It was a good bonding time. And to be honest, Barcelona was way cooler than I thought it would be. I really liked the city…other than the spanish speaking part. I was relieved to return to France where I could at least understand a conversation or when someone tries to talk to me. In Spain I was so useless. I still loved it though.
![]() |
| From left to right: Jos, Dor, Molly, Monica, Tobias. |

No comments:
Post a Comment